A Brief Introduction to Cricket

Cricket is a modern day sport played between two teams. The game is played on an oval or round shaped ground which has a rectangular 22 yard long pitch in the middle. One team bats to score as many runs as you can. The other team stops the conduct flow by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs on the opposite end of the pitch and rolls the crease there with no dismissed.

Test Cricket

The oldest form of cricket is Test Cricket. The sport of cricket really evolved with Test Cricket. Records show that test match was played between Australia and England in the year 1876-77. The game of cricket has come a long way since that time. The rules have changed a lot. A test match is played over a period of five times with every team batting and bowling twice. Maximum over that can be bowled in a day is 90 while there’s absolutely no limit on the amount of over a single bowler may bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been played till date. you may be interested in cricket prediction

There are nine test playing nations that are full members of International Cricket Council – The International Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Restricted overs cricket has been introduced in England from the year 1963. Internationally, the first limited over game has been played in the year 1971. One game is played in 1 day. A bowler can bowl a maximum of 10 over’s in a game. In 1975, a new tournament known as World cup came into existence. All of International Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a series of matches against each other. The winners of the tournament were termed as World Champions.

World cup is played after every four decades. ICC has conducted 10 world cups until date. Australia became winners four times, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The previous world cup was held at the year 2011 and was won by India.


The latest advancement in the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Here, each group plays 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs. First international Twenty-twenty match was played in the year 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is played every two years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 international teams have played the game.

Even after 100 decades of its existence, the prevalence of the game is still increasing. More and more people are taking up this sport. It is only second to Soccer concerning followers around the planet and is place to place a challenge for the top slot really soon.